First Congregational United Church of Christ
Saturday, March 17, 2018
Salem, Oregon


Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees cares for and has custody of the church's property and the legal and financial affairs of the church.
Chair is Rick O'Grady.

Deacons Committee

The Deacons Committee assists the Pastor(s) in providing for the worship life of the church and parish care for the congregation. Deacons are divided in two groups: Worship and Parish Care.
Chair is Julie Woodward. Council liaison is Susie Francois.

Christian Education Committee

The Christian Education Committee provides lifelong learning opportunities and experiences to help from members' identity as spiritual beings living in relationship to God and others; by fostering understanding of the sacredness of life, our connection to creation, and the commitment to learn and follow the values and teachings of Jesus of Nazareth.
Chair is Michelle Laseter.

Mission and Outreach Committee

The Mission and Outreach Committee is responsible for mission outreach in the local community, the conference, and beyond.
Chair is Judith Taussig.


Welcoming Committee

The Welcoming Committee shapes the church's welcome and response to newcomers.
Chairs are Melvin Stewart and Sally Ridenour.

Peace and Justice Committee

The Peace and Justice Committee educates and involves the congregation in issues and actions that promote peace and social justice.
Chair is Tom O'Connor.

Community Committee

The Community Committee develops lay leadership by fostering opportunities for the congregation to share fellowship, to nurture friendship, and to build a sense of community.
Chair is Maya Close.


Moderator: Tamara Smith

Vice Moderator: David Watson

Clerk: Bev Pratt

Treasurer: Evan White


Click here for the committees' job descriptions.